Technologies Advancing Translation and Equity

Co DirectorsFrancisco Pasquel, MD, MPH and Nicoleta Serban, PhD, MS


Core Experts:

Name Institution Title Primary Research Interest(s) Contact
David Baidal, MD University of Miami gcdtr@emory.edu 
Peter Calhoun, PhD Jaeb Center for Health Research Biostatistician gcdtr@emory.edu 
Jon Duke, MD, MS Georgia Institute of Technology gcdtr@emory.edu 
Deirdre James, PhD University of Tennessee Health Science Center Assistant Professor of Endocrinology gcdtr@emory.edu 
Daniel E. Jimenez, PhD University of Miami gcdtr@emory.edu 
Andra G. Parker, PhD Georgia Institute of Technology gcdtr@emory.edu 
Thad Starner, PhD, SM Georgia Institute of Technology gcdtr@emory.edu 
Ashby Walker, PhD University of Florida Assistant Professor, Health Services Research, Management & Policy gcdtr@emory.edu 
Way Wang, PhD Georgia Institute of Technology gcdtr@emory.edu 

 

Core Members:

Name Institution Title Primary Research Interest(s) Contact
Liliana Aguayo-Markes, PhD, MPH Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Research Assistant Professor of Global Health Obesity and insulin resistance among Mexican families laguay2@emory.edu
Manoj Bhasin, PhD, MS Emory University School of Medicine Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Biomedical Informatics Immune landscape mapping of chronic diseases manoj.bhasin@emory.edu
Doug Bodner, PhD, PE Georgia Institute of Technology College of Engineering Lecturer and Tennenbaum Institute Principal Research Engineer, School of Industrial & Systems Engineering Networked healthcare systems design doug.bodner@gatech.edu
Saumeth Cardona, MD, MPH Emory University School of Medicine Associate Director of Research Projects, Division of Endocrinology Inpatient diabetes management scardon@emory.edu
Suchi Chandrasekaran, MD Emory University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Gynecology & Obstetrics, Division of Maternal-Fetal Medicine Gestational diabetes schan51@emory.edu
Puneet Chehal, PhD Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Assistant Professor of Global Health Access to public health insurance puneet.chehal@emory.edu
Jonathan Colasanti, MD, MSPH Emory University School of Medicine Associate Professor of Infectious Diseases Health disparities in people with HIV jcolasa@emory.edu
Carlos del Rio, MD Emory University School of Medicine Distinguished Professor of Infectious Diseases; Executive Associate Dean for Emory at Grady; Principal Investigator and co-Director of the Emory Center for AIDS Research HIV/AIDS prevention cdelrio@emory.edu
Melissa S. Faulkner, PhD, RN Georgia State University Byrdine F. Lewis College of Nursing & Health Professions Professor & Lewis Distinguished Chair in Nursing Cardiovascular risks in adolescents with diabetes or obesity mfaulkner@gsu.edu
Maya Fayfman, MD Emory University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Endocrinology Diabetic foot care, especially in racial minorities maya.fayfman@emory.edu
Erin Ferranti, PhD, MPH, RN Emory University Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing Assistant Professor Mitigating cardiometabolic risk burden in women epoe@emory.edu
Jennifer Frediani, PhD, RD Emory University Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing Assistant Professor Interaction between lifestyle factors and disease jfredia@emory.edu
Karla Galaviz, PhD Indiana University School of Public Health Assistant Professor Integrating proven health interventions and practices in real-world settings kgalaviz@iu.edu
Amy Webb Girard, PhD Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Associate Professor of Global Health and Epidemiology Maternal/child health and nutrition awebb3@emory.edu
Unjali Gujral, PhD, MPH Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Assistant Professor of Global Health Type 2 diabetes in South Asian populations ugujral@emory.edu
Jessica Harding, PhD Emory University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Surgery Diabetes and kidney disease complications jlhardi@emory.edu
Saria Hassan, MD Emory University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Primary Care Precision medicine to address health disparities saria.hassan@emory.edu
J. Sonya Haw, MD Emory University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Endocrinology Health disparities in diabetes jhaw@emory.edu
Joyce Ho, PhD Emory University College of Arts and Sciences Assistant Professor of Computer Science Machine learning to predict disease risk joyce.c.ho@emory.edu
Noreen Islam, MD Emory University School of Medicine Pediatric Endocrinology Fellow Pediatric comorbidities of diabetes noreen.islam@emory.edu
Ram Jagannathan, PhD Emory University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Hospital Medicine Mobile applications to prevent diabetes rjagann@emory.edu
Dayna Johnson, PhD, MPH, MSW, MS Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Assistant Professor of Epidemiology Effect of sleep on diabetes control dajohn6@emory.edu
Pinar Keskinocak, PhD Georgia Institute of Technology College of Engineering William W. George Chair and Professor of Industrial & Systems Engineering Infectious disease modeling pinar@isye.gatech.edu
Salimah LaForce, MS Georgia Institute of Technology College of Liberal Arts Senior Policy Analyst, Center for Advanced Communications Policy American Sign Language-accessible diabetes education salimah@cacp.gatech.edu
Dong Li, MD, PhD Emory University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Hospital Medicine Management of cardiac complications in people with diabetes dong.li2@emory.edu
Carmen Marsit, PhD Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Associate Dean for Research; Professor of Environmental Health Childhood obesity and diabetes risk cmarsit@emory.edu
Scott Moffat, PhD Georgia Institute of Technology College of Sciences Associate Professor of Psychology Behavioral endocrinology scott.moffat@psych.gatech.edu
Andrew Muir, MD Emory University School of Medicine Division Director and Professor of Pediatric Endocrinology and Diabetes Prevention of type 1 diabetes in children abmuir@emory.edu
Igho Ofotokun, MD, MSc Emory University School of Medicine Professor of Infectious Diseases Clinical and translational research on HIV in women iofotok@emory.edu
Andrea Grimes Parker, PhD Georgia Institute of Technology College of Computing Associate Professor of Interactive Computing Human-computer interaction and health informatics andrea@cc.gatech.edu
Ruth Parker, MD Emory University School of Medicine Professor and Associate Director of Faculty Development, Division of General Medicine  Health disparities, equity, and literacy rpark01@emory.edu
Shivani Patel, PhD, MPH Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Assistant Professor of Global Health Modifiable risk factors for chronic disease s.a.patel@emory.edu
Rakale Quarells, PhD Morehouse School of Medicine Associate Professor of Community Health & Preventive Medicine Chronic disease risk factor reduction rquarells@msm.edu
Jennifer Rooke, MD, MPH Morehouse School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Community Health & Preventive Medicine Lifestyle behavior changes for chronic diseases jrooke@msm.edu
Marcos C. Schechter, MD Emory University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Infectious Diseases Diabetic foot disease mcoutin@emory.edu
Stacie Schmidt, MD Emory University School of Medicine Associate Professor of General Medicine & Geriatrics Improving patient self-efficacy and self-management skills srschmi@emory.edu
Amit Shah, MD, MSCR Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Assistant Professor of Epidemiology Bioinformatics in cardiovascular health ajshah3@emory.edu
Sarita Shah, MD, MPH Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Associate Professor of Global Health and Epidemiology Drug-resistant TB and TB/HIV co-infection sarita.shah@emory.edu
Mi-Kyung Song, PhD, RN Emory University Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing Professor Gerontology and palliative care mi-kyung.song@emory.edu
Lisa Staimez, PhD, MPH Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Assistant Professor of Global Health Diabetes pathophysiology lrlevy@emory.edu
Arlene Stecenko, MD Emory University School of Medicine Associate Professor of Pediatrics  Cystic fibrosis in children astecen@emory.edu
Claire Sterk, PhD Emory University Rollins School of Public Health University President Emeritus; Charles Howard Candler Professor of Behavioral, Social, & Health Education Sciences Health disparities in people with addiction and HIV/AIDS ces@emory.edu
Sara Turbow, MD, MPH Emory University School of Medicine Associate Professor of General Medicine and Geriatrics; Associate Professor of Preventive Medicine Diabetes health disparities sara.turbow@emory.edu
Viola Vaccarino, MD, PhD Emory University School of Medicine Professor of Cardiology Cardiovascular disease epidemiology and prevention lvaccar@emory.edu
Lance Waller, PhD Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Professor of Biostatistics & Bioinformatics Statistical methods for disease surveillance lwaller@emory.edu
Peter W.F. Wilson, MD Emory University School of Medicine Professor of Cardiology; Director of Epidemiology and Genomic Medicine, Atlanta VA Medical Center Cardiovascular disease prevention pwwilso@emory.edu
Henry Young, PhD University of Georgia College of Pharmacy Associate Professor of Clinical and Administrative Pharmacy Medication use/adherence and health outcomes hnyoung@uga.edu