Design and Evaluation for Equity

Translation research and data, especially in the areas of health services research, design, and evaluation can help close the gaps of identifying people at risk and with diabetes, and uptaking of prevention programs to reduce morbidity, especially among the vulnerable and minorities by tailoring diabetes prevention and control efforts to better suit target populations, and by generating policy- and practice-oriented data to inform investments in diabetes interventions.

Co Directors: Mohammed K. Ali, MD, MSc, MBA and Rachel Patzer, PhD, MPH


Core Experts:

Name Institution Title Primary Research Interest(s) Contact
Turgay Ayer, PhD Georgia Institute of Technology College of Engineering George Family Foundation Early Career Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering Healthcare analytics and socially responsible business analytics gcdtr@emory.edu
Michael Goodman, MD, MPH Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Professor of Epidemiology Health disparities in chronic diseases gcdtr@emory.edu
Jess Harding, PhD Emory University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Surgery Diabetes and kidney disease complications gcdtr@emory.edu
Francisco J. Pasquel, MD, MPH Emory University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Endocrinology Diabetes in older adults and ethnic minorities gcdtr@emory.edu
Nicoleta Serban, PhD, MS Georgia Institute of Technology College of Engineering Virginia C. and Joseph C. Mello Professor of Industrial & Systems Engineering Healthcare access and analytics gcdtr@emory.edu

 

Core Members:

Name Institution Title Primary Research Interest(s) Contact
Liliana Aguayo, PhD, MPH Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Research Assistant Professor of Global Health Obesity and insulin resistance among Mexican families

laguay2@emory.edu

Tabia Henry Akintobi, PhD, MPH Morehouse School of Medicine Professor of Community Health and Preventive Medicine Community and family health

takintobi@msm.edu

Yara Beyh, MS, LD Emory University Doctoral Student, Nutrition and Health Sciences Epigenetics of diabetes and pregnancy outcomes yara.beyh@emory.edu 
Manoj Bhasin, PhD, MS Emory University School of Medicine Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Biomedical Informatics Immune landscape mapping of
chronic diseases
manoj.bhasin@emory.edu
Doug Bodner, PhD, PE Georgia Institute of Technology College of Engineering Lecturer and Tennenbaum Institute Principal Research Engineer, School of Industrial and Systems Engineering Networked healthcare systems
design
doug.bodner@gatech.edu
Saumeth Cardona, MD, MPH Emory University School of Medicine Associate Director of Research Projects, Division of Endocrinology Inpatient diabetes management scardon@emory.edu
Suchi Chandrasekaran, MD Emory University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Gynecology & Obstetrics, Division of Maternal-Fetal Medicine

Gestational diabetes management

schan51@emory.edu
Puneet Chehal, PhD Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Assistant Professor of Health Policy and Management

Access to public health insurance

puneet.chehal@emory.edu
Daesung Choi, PhD, MPH Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Postdoctoral Fellow, Hubert Department of Global Health Diabetes and mortality using demographic methods daesung.choi@emory.edu
Jonathan Colasanti, MD, MSPH Emory University School of Medicine Associate Professor of Infectious Diseases Health disparities in HIV jcolasa@emory.edu
Steven Culler, PhD Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Associate Professor of Health Policy and Management Health services and cost of care sculler@emory.edu
Georgia Davis, MD Emory University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Endocrinology Continuous glucose monitoring gmdavis@emory.edu
Teaniese Davis, PhD Kaiser Permanente Investigator, Center for Research and Evaluation Behavioral theory-based prevention interventions Teaniese.L.Davis@kp.org
Carlos del Rio, MD Emory University School of Medicine Professor of Infectious Diseases HIV / AIDS prevention cdelrio@emory.edu 
Neal Dickert, MD PhD Emory University School of Medicine Associate Professor of Cardiology Ethical issues relevant to cardiology practice and clinical research njr@emory.edu 
Sandra Dunbar, RN, PhD Emory University Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing Associate Dean of Academic Advancement Diabetes self-management and cardiovascular comorbidities sbdunba@emory.edu
Maya Fayfman, MD Emory University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Endocrinology HIV / AIDS prevention maya.fayfman@emory.edu
Erin Ferranti, PhD, MPH, RN Emory University Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing Assistant Professor Mitigating cardiometabolic risk burden in women epoe@emory.edu 
Jennifer Frediani, PhD, RD Emory University Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing Assistant Professor Interaction between lifestyle factors and disease jfredia@emory.edu 
Karla Galaviz, PhD, MSc Indiana University School of Public Health Assistant Professor Integrating proven health interventions and practices in real-world settings kgalaviz@iu.edu 
Amy Webb Girard, PhD Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Associate Professor of Global Health and Epidemiology Maternal/child health and nutrition awebb3@emory.edu
Holly Gooding, MD, MSc Emory University School of Medicine Associate Professor of Pediatrics Preservation of cardiovascular health hgoodin@emory.edu
Unjali Gujral, PhD, MPH Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Assistant Professor of Global Health Type 2 diabetes in South Asian populations ugujral@emory.edu 
Saria Hassan, MD Emory University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Primary Care Precision medicine to address diabetes saria.hassan@emory.edu
J. Sonya Haw, MD Emory University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Endocrinology Health disparities in diabetes jhaw@emory.edu
Monique Hennink, PhD Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Associate Professor of Global Health Qualitative behavioral research mhennin@emory.edu 
Joyce Ho, PhD Emory University College of Arts and Sciences Assistant Professor of Computer Science Machine learning to predict disease risk joyce.c.ho@emory.edu
Julien Hogan, MD, PhD, MPH Emory University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Surgery Increasing access to kidney transplantation julien.hogan@emory.edu
Noreen Islam, MD Emory University School of Medicine Pediatric Endocrinology Fellow Pediatric comorbidities  noreen.islam@emory.edu 
Ram Jagannathan, PhD Emory University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Hospital Medicine Mobile applications to prevent diabetes rjagann@emory.edu
Dayna Johnson, PhD, MPH, MSW, MS Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Assistant Professor of Epidemiology Effect of sleep on diabetes control dayna.johnson@emory.edu
Ted Johnson, MD, MPH Emory University School of Medicine Professor of General Medicine; Paul W. Seavey Chair and Chief of General Medicine and Geriatrics Improving quality of life in elderly patients tmjohns@emory.edu
Dean Jones, PhD Emory University School of Medicine Professor of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine Oxidative stress biomarkers dpjones@emory.edu
Rebecca Jones, PhD, MSPH Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Postdoctoral Fellow, Hubert Department of Global Health Nutritional health in migrant populations rejone4@emory.edu
Pinar Keskinocak, PhD Georgia Institute of Technology College of Engineering William W. George Chair and Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering Infectious disease modeling pinar@isye.gatech.edu
Ambar Kulshreshtha, MD, PhD Emory University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Family and Preventive Medicine Preventive cardiovascular and geriatric medicine akulshr@emory.edu
Salimah LaForce, MS Georgia Institute of Technology Center for Advanced Communications Policy Senior Policy Analyst American Sign Language-accessible diabetes education salimah@cacp.gatech.edu
Tené Lewis, PhD Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Associate Professor of Epidemiology Psychosocial epidemiology tene.t.lewis@emory.edu
Chaoran Li, PhD Emory University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Microbiology and Immunology Insulin resistance in obesity-associated metabolic diseases chaoran.li@emory.edu
Dong Li, MD, PhD Emory University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Hospital Medicine Management of cardiac complications in diabetes dong.li2@emory.edu 
Felipe Lobelo, MD, MPH Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Associate Professor of Global Health Exercise for prevention of diabetes felipelobelo@emory.edu 
Matthew Magee, PhD, MPH Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Associate Professor of Global Health and Epidemiology Intersection of non communicable diseases and infectious diseases mjmagee@emory.edu
Vincent Marconi, MD Emory University School of Medicine Professor of Infectious Diseases HIV/AIDS prevention vcmarco@emory.edu
Carmen Marsit, PhD Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Professor of Environmental Health Childhood obesity and diabetes risk carmen.j.marsit@emory.edu 
Alexandra Migdal, MD Emory University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Endocrinology Insulin therapy in diabetes patients amigdal@emory.edu
Scott Moffat, PhD Georgia Institute of Technology College of Sciences Associate Professor of Psychology Behavioral endocrinology scott.moffat@psych.gatech.edu
Andrew Muir, MD Emory University School of Medicine / Children's Healthcare of Atlanta Bernard Marcus Professor of Pediatric Endocrinology Health disparities abmuir@emory.edu 
Elizabeth Mynatt, PhD Georgia Institute of Technology College of Computing Distinguished Professor, School of Interactive Computing Interactive computing and health informatics mynatt@gatech.edu 
Igho Ofotokun, MD, MSc Emory University School of Medicine Professor of Infectious Diseases Clinical / translational research on HIV in women iofotok@emory.edu 
Andrea Grimes Parker, PhD Georgia Institute of Technology College of Computing Associate Professor of Interactive Computing Human-computer interaction and health informatics andrea@cc.gatech.edu
Ruth Parker, MD Emory University School of Medicine Professor of General Medicine Health disparities / equity and health literacy rpark01@emory.edu 
Shivani A. Patel, PhD, MPH Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Assistant Professor of Global Health Modifiable risk factors for chronic disease s.a.patel@emory.edu 
Limin Peng, PhD Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Professor of Biostatistics and Bioinformatics Survival and longitudinal data analysis lpeng@emory.edu
Lawrence S. Phillips, MD Emory University School of Medicine Professor of Endocrinology; Medical Director, Clinical Studies Center, Atlanta VA Medical Center Diabetes screening, diagnosis and treatment delivery medlsp@emory.edu
Victoria Phillips, PhD Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Associate Professor of Health Policy and Management Healthcare economics vphil01@emory.edu 
Laura Plantinga, PhD, ScM Emory University School of Medicine Associate Professor of Geriatrics Patient-centered approaches to improving quality of care in patients with chronic diseases laura.plantinga@emory.edu
Rakale C. Quarells, PhD Morehouse School of Medicine Associate Professor of Community Health & Preventive Medicine Chronic disease risk factor reduction rquarells@msm.edu 
Arshed A. Quyyumi, MD Emory University School of Medicine Professor of Cardiology Cardiovascular disease risk reduction aquyyum@emory.edu 
Mary Rhee, MD, MS Emory University School of Medicine Associate Professor of Endocrinology Diabetes epidemiology mrhee@emory.edu
Jennifer Rooke, MD, MPH Morehouse School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Community Health & Preventive Medicine Lifestyle behavior changes for chronic diseases jrooke@msm.edu 
Marcos C. Schechter, MD Emory University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Infectious Diseases Diabetic foot disease mcoutin@emory.edu
Stacie Schmidt, MD Emory University School of Medicine Associate Professor of General Medicine and Geriatrics Improving patient self-efficacy and self-management skills srschmi@emory.edu
Amit Shah, MD, MSCR Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Assistant Professor of Epidemiology Bioinformatics in cardiovascular health ajshah3@emory.edu
Megha Shah, MD Emory University School of Medicine Assistant Professor of Family and Preventive Medicine Community-partnered approaches to chronic disease management megha.shah@emory.edu
Sarita Shah, MD, MPH Emory University Rollins School of Public Health and School of Medicine Associate Professor of Global Health and Epidemiology; Associate Professor of Infectious Diseases Drug-resistant tuberculosis and TB/HIV co-infection sarita.shah@emory.edu
Mi-Kyung Song, PhD, RN Emory University Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing  Professor Gerontology / palliative care mi-kyung.song@emory.edu 
Laurence Sperling, MD Emory University School of Medicine Katz Professor of Preventive Cardiology; Director of Preventive Cardiology at the Emory Clinic Cardiometabolic disease prevention lsperli@emory.edu
Lisa Staimez, PhD, MPH Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Assistant Professor of Global Health Diabetes pathophysiology lrlevy@emory.edu 
Arlene Stecenko, MD Emory University School of Medicine Associate Professor of Pediatrics Cystic fibrosis in children astecen@emory.edu 
Claire Sterk, PhD Emory University Charles Howard Candler Professor of Behavioral, Social, and Health Education Sciences / University President Emeritus Health disparities in addiction and HIV / AIDS ces@emory.edu 
Herman A. Taylor, MD Morehouse School of Medicine Professor of Medicine Cardiovascular disease prevention htaylor@msm.edu 
Sara Turbow, MD, MPH Emory University School of Medicine Associate Professor of General Medicine and Geriatrics; Associate Professor of Preventive Medicine Diabetes health disparities sara.turbow@emory.edu
Viola Vaccarino, MD, PhD Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Professor and Chair, Department of Epidemiology Cardiovascular disease epidemiology and prevention lvaccar@emory.edu 
E. Camille Vaughan, MD Emory University School of Medicine Associate Professor of Geriatrics Management of lower urinary tract symptoms in older adults, especially those with Parkinson's disease epedigo@emory.edu 
Priyathama Vellanki, MD, MS Emory University School of Medicine Associate Professor of Endocrinology; Medical Director, Grady Endocrinology Clinic Genotype-phenotype correlations in insulin sensitivity pvellan@emory.edu
Miriam Vos, MD, MSPH Emory University School of Medicine Professor of Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition Nonalcoholic fatty livery disease mvos@emory.edu
Lance Waller, PhD Emory University Rollins School of Public Health Professor of Biostatistics and Bioinformatics Statistical methods for disease surveillance lwaller@emory.edu 
Jean Welsh, PhD, MPH, RN Emory University School of Medicine Associate Professor of Pediatric Gastroenterology Childhood dietary patterns and risk of obesity and chronic disease jwelsh1@emory.edu
Lauren Wilcox, PhD Georgia Institute of Technology College of Computing Assistant Professor of Interactive Computing Human-centered technology in health wilcox@gatech.edu
Peter W. F. Wilson, MD Emory University School of Medicine Professor of Cardiology Cardiovascular disease prevention pwwilso@emory.edu 
Henry Young, PhD University of Georgia College of Pharmacy Associate Professor of Clinical and Administrative Pharmacy Medication use/adherence and health outcomes  hnyoung@uga.edu